Tessa takes me to Tokyo

I have this friend called Tessa. She has a blog she started recently and you should read it. I’m not just saying that because she’s my friend either. I genuinely find her writing so interesting and thought provoking and I hope she keeps it up (I hope we can inspire each other to keep it up). Anyway, to the point, not only is Tessa a wonderful, kind-hearted, intelligent person (who shares my love of PLL #notashamed), she is also very lucky.

No, you don’t understand. Let’s start at the very beginning.

Tessa and our mutual friend, Ashlea, enter a competition vowing to take the other person if one of them wins. The prize is flights to LA, 4 star accommodation and VIP passes to the American Music Awards – Crazy. No one ever really wins that stuff, but Tessa and Ashlea did. Once in a lifetime right? Wrong. Tessa comes back from the AMAs where she announced her love for Miley and Miley actually waved to her (best moment of her life, she says) and within a couple of weeks she wins a double pass to both Lady Gaga’s ARTPOP Ball and Katy Perry’s PRISM tour.

"Miley is most definitely waving at me, not telling me to talk to the hand" ~ Tessa

“Miley is most definitely waving at me and not telling me to talk to the hand” ~ Tessa

This brings me to the grand finale, after which this post is titled. Tessa and I are at the St Kilda Festival where Air Asia is hosting a competition to win flights to Japan, all you have to do is play a round of Dance Dance Revolution. I love Dance Dance Revolution so entering this competition is hardly a chore, and my love for DDR has only doubled since it won Tessa those flights and she decided to take me of all people with her. Yep, I am going to Tokyo.

To prepare for the trip I began to do some online research, read about other people’s experiences, highlights, recommendations and all things in between, but I found the travel blogosphere to be big on “top 10 tips for packing” and “50 things to do in Beijing” and a little stale on actual anecdotal experiences. Maybe I am looking in the wrong places (I’ll keep looking!) but, as they say, be the change you wish to see in the world! So I’ve decided that I will anecdote my experiences anecdotally, not just when it comes to travel, but on my humble Melbourne experiences as well. Hopefully it inspires someone to visit somewhere, even if it’s in their own backyard.

I will be boarding a plane in less than 12 hours. The only thing that could make me happier right now is if Taylor Swift’s face is painted on the side of the plane.

Air Asia's most attractive plane

Air Asia’s most attractive plane

5 comments

  1. Usually I do not read writeup on blogs, nevertheless I wish to say that this writeup extremely forced me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, really wonderful post. egcfeaddkedc

    Like

Comments are closed.