Girl Power

Girl Power

I used to read a lot. My mum would take me to the library, I’d pick a stack of books and they’d sit beside my bed and by the end of the week we’d have to go back to the library to refresh the book stack. I’d stay up way too late reading in the dark so I didn’t get in trouble. This probably possibly maybe has something to do with the vision impairment that developed in my early teens.

For some reason, (maybe coinciding with the fact i could no longer read in the dark?) I stopped reading midway through high school. I went from five books a week to 1 book a year, usually read in the space of 48 hours during a holiday where I was forced to a. hang out with my cousins or b. retreat to my bedroom and read.

Between now and highschool (I’m 22), I haven’t read much of anything. I replaced the need to escape into a fantasy world with an addiction to social media and movies and tv shows. Not necessarily a bad thing but also not… balanced…..

I recently picked up Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake at a recommendation from my Mum who reads anything and everything all the time. It’s set post apocalypse (so naturally appeals to me) and is both depressing and funny at once. I’ve been reading on my way to work and have been really enjoying it. Both the book and the not obsessively scrolling instagram so early in the mornings. My not-so-new-years-resolution is to spend less time eyeballing a screen and more time finishing books I’ve been meaning to read forever and ever…..

 

To kick this off I recently ordered four books written by some seriously inspirational gals.

1. NOT THAT KIND OF GIRL – Lena Dunham

A no brainer for a fan of Girls and a fan of the girl herself: Lena Dunham is, as her character Hannah so eloquently puts it

“the voice of my generation… or at least a voice… of a generation”

notthatkindofgirl

That quote has really stuck with me, both because it’s such a hilariously ridiculous statement that actually came true – Lena is now, without a doubt one of the most influential voices of our generation – and because it’s something deep down I’ve always wanted to be… a voice of a generation… and I don’t think I am alone in saying that. We all wanna be heard!

Not That Kind Of Girl is a collection of essays based on Lena’s personal experiences and if Girls is anything to judge by, I’m looking forward to an emotional roller coaster of sadness and hilarity and a healthy hint of insanity.

You can read an excerpt from the book here.

If you haven’t seen and loved Girls or you just aren’t buying the hype, watch this and TRY resisting the remaining 11 in the series. Why would I need therapy when I have #AskLena?

Sometimes (frequently) I fantasize about hanging out with Lena and Taylor Swift (they are totally friends!). Dreamteam. I think we’d all get along great.

2. BOSSYPANTS – Tina Fey

I’m so late jumping on this band wagon but did anybody else notice Tina Fey over there just casually being a genius? I don’t know if you know this but Tina Fey wrote Mean Girls, which means I am indirectly quoting her

  • Every October 3rd
  • Every time somebody does something wonderful “You go Glen CoCo”
  • Every time my phone suggests “Gro..” become “Grool”

…and many other times throughout my day, year, life.

coffeebooks

I hate working for the man, but I would work for Tina Fey.

3. #GIRLBOSS – Sophia Amoruso

I’ll be honest, I don’t know a lot about Sophia Amoruso or this book but a couple of (totally shallow) things have factored into me giving this book a go

#aspirations

#aspirations

  • Judging by its cover… or at least its title… a hashtag? GirlBoss? You’re speaking my language!
  • I’ve shopped at Nasty Gal many a time (she’s the boss, the GIRLBOSS!)
  • She’s pals with Lena

Not to mention I’m (narcissistically?) drawn to people (and products) sharing my name….

I’ll post my thoughts on this book in the not too distant future!

4. GIRL ONLINE – Zoe Sugg

Recently I’ve been pretty obsessed with Zoe’s youtube channels Zoella and MoreZoella (trust me when I say if you start with Zoella you will crave MORE Zoella). She started out blogging in 2009, began vlogging soon after that and now has her own line of beauty products and has a book coming out in November!

This one is not an autobiography, if you want that just watch her vlogs (seriously, watch them), but I am guessing from the premise – anon girl who suffers from anxiety writes blog, goes viral – it is at least a little based on life experiences.

I find Zoe so likeable, hilarious, knowledgeable and HONEST, which is a brave and scary thing considering how many people are watching her videos.  I feel like we are definitely friends… It’s the one-sided kind of friendship where she doesn’t know I exist but I’ll take what I can get.

Again, I will share my thoughts once I have read this one 🙂

bookspread
This turned into a realllllly long post so if you’ve made it this far, THANKS! Have you read any of the above? What did you think? (no spoilers please)

You can also follow me on TWITTER | FEEDLY | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN

 

