I Know Exactly What I Want and Who I Want To Be

A few weeks ago a song came out that I have not stopped listening to. It’s called Froot.

Since it’s Wednesday and everyone is doing their #WCWs I thought it was… appropriate? to share my, not so much crush, but aspiration to BE or at least be like, Marina Diamandis. She is fabulous in more ways than just her Frootiness.

Marina, best known by her stage name Marina and the Diamonds, has some of the best lyrics in pop, the tastiest electro synthy beats, a brain in her head (read some of her thoughts on Lady Gaga and pirating music on her, now defunct, blog) and she looks like a babe.

Marina And The Diamonds

I think the lyrics thing is why she is often compared to Lana Del Ray. For me, this is where their similarities both begin and end – and it’s not because the lyics themselves are similar, it’s because they are similarly good, which in pop music is soooo rare.

I am not A Robot lyrics

If I hear another “put your hands in the air like you just don’t care” when listening to the radio I might just cry, and totally disregarding basic rules of the English language?

 

“Don’t wanna hear you lie tonight

Now that I’ve become who I really are”

 

“There ain’t no guarantee

But I’ll take a chance on we”

 

“I’m about to strip and I’m well equipped

Can you handle me the way I are?”

 

You’re not even trying!

 

I was first introduced to Marina by my boyfriend, of all people, who NEVER likes my girl pop so clearly she is doing something very clever to have such a broad fan base. Though, I think if I play Froot one more time he might change his mind…

Marina’s third studio album, also titled Froot, won’t be released until next year which crushes my soul a little bit but hopefully she will do a Tswizzle and release a few more songs beforehand because I HAVE FROOT FEVER.

I will leave you what is still my fave Marina song and video.

