Graham, Victoria & The First I Live Here “Live Blog”

UPDATE 13/12/14: THE I LIVE HERE VICTORIA’S SECRET FASHION SHOW LIVE BLOG WILL TAKE PLACE AT 8:00 PM Sunday 14th December 2014 (GMT+11).

If you have been living in a world where your primary news source is not The NT News like mine is (only reliable news source) it’s possible you may not have heard that the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show was on Tuesday night. Taylor Swift performed. Ariana Grande performed. Ed Sheeran performed. Adriana Lima and Alessandra Ambrosio were there. Cara Delevigne awkwardly wasn’t there because the Chanel Métiers d’Art Paris-Salzburg 2014/15 show was awkwardly on the same night.

We’ll miss you beb

My point is, I have looked forward to the VS fashion show every year since I stumbled across a YouTube video of Rihanna performing in a black gown and pearly sunglasses while the Angels sauntered passed her. I loved this for two reasons.

The first is the same reason I love watching Graham Norton.

On the Graham Norton show the guests don’t come out one by one – they sit together on a red couch in blatant hierarchical order – the hotter they are right now the closer their proximity to Graham, the show’s host. The interviews are more conversational than question/answer. Graham leads the discussion with questions directed at individuals but the floor is informally open for anyone to add their two cents. The guests are often meeting one another for the first time and they are usually from a variety of backgrounds – musicians, comedians, models, actors, writers, TV stars, anyone who is “in”. There are many beautiful things about the chemistry on the couch including

Unlike other fashion shows, the VS models are allowed to be themselves, or at least, glamorazzi unattainable goddess versions of themselves. They are allowed to have personalities, and have fun, rather than acting as featureless clothes hangers with legs. The VS models are the only models regular people actually know by name. They have fame of their own outside of the designers they walk and work for. So when your favourite angel is on the catwalk stage with your favourite musical artist how do you cope? How do they cope? How do they coexist in the one space? Are their interactions rehearsed or spontaneous? staged or authentic? Does Rihanna feel bad that she doesn’t have the floor to herself? Does Karlie Kloss resent Rihanna for being in the way of her leggy strut? Seeing huge names share the same space who would otherwise have no reason to interact in front of an audience is surreal and it’s an obsession of mine that Graham Norton and VS have given me the chance to realise.

The second reason is my obsession with tacky!

Some of my favourite fashion labels include Ashish, Di$count Universe (a Melbourne brand!) and, most recently, Jean-Paul Gaultier – for the simple reason that they make the most outrageous, sequinned, sparkling pieces that you could ever dream of wearing. VS is the same – each look is so over the top with wings and Swarovski crystals and million dollar underwear and I just get freakishly excited over the whole spectacle.

Di$count Universe

Ashish

Beyoncé in Jean-Paul Gaultier

Side Note: My friends make tacky sculptures and other items and are holding an interactive exhibition early next year. If you’d like to know me or help them make it all POZIBLE – go here!

I used to read a live blog of The Voice, which is awful, but I really enjoyed watching the show when I had someone else sharing their thoughts in real time. I would always read The Voice live blog thinking it was something I’d love to do so I thought fuckit IMMA DO IT for VICTORIA’S SECRET. Unfortunately I can’t watch it live live because it doesn’t even air in the US until December the 9th and I live in Australia – HOWEVER I will be tweeting and twittering and twatting (just kidding) an exact time my live blog will commence so you can watch it with me if you so choose 🙂 I look forward to seeing you there – and of course to watching my favourite show of the year! Christmas has come early!

UPDATE: THE I LIVE HERE VICTORIA’S SECRET FASHION SHOW LIVE BLOG WILL TAKE PLACE AT 8:00 PM Sunday 14th December 2014 (GMT+11).

Follow me on TWITTER so you don’t miss it!

You can also follow me on BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

