Dark Places by Gillian Flynn | Review

Dark PlacesDark Places by Gillian Flynn

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Dark Places is a miserable book about miserable and awful people.

That’s not necessarily a bad thing. In fact I think Flynn writes some really great awful people. I genuinely felt sick to my stomach in some chapters. If you were to look at my face throughout it would be that sucking-a-lemon face. So I definitely think that’s a skill.

I also don’t think it’s necessary for your protagonist to be likeable, which Libby is not (no one is, in this book). However, not only are they not likeable, they aren’t interesting, and the actions and interactions are sometimes not very realistic or believable. Also, nothing interesting actually happens. This is a whodunnit crime story, and the “who” who “dunnit” isn’t a surprise. I kept telling myself, there better be a damn good twist for me to put up with all this cow slaughtering, but I was disappointed.

I’ve read Flynn before, her short story as party of George RR Martin’s Rogues Anthology is a good one, and maybe I’d read her again. But Dark Places disappointed.

View all my reviews

